Its all in your head.

Recently, Shari and I went on a date. We went to the theater and saw the movie, “McFarland USA”. We enjoy going to the shows. We especially enjoy the popcorn!

 

Document

 

 

I really enjoyed this movie for many reasons. First, it was a feel-good show based on a true story.  Second, I was able to relate to it.  The story revolves around  an Anglo (white) teacher/coach who moves to an (almost) exclusive town/school of Latinos. He struggles to fit in and to make an impact on his students. His students are children of “pickers”–migrant workers.  They and their parents all work the fields to harvest fruits and vegetables. This has been their lives for many generations.  They know no other life.

Lately, I have been spending a fair amount of time on the Internet doing family history research. My searching has led me to find many family members on my father’s side. Latinos and Latinas living the best they could in southern Texas.  While searching for them, I encountered several US census forms from the early 1900’s. Those reports showed a high number of my ancestors that worked as “laborers” .   I imagine some of them also worked the fields. That was their life. They knew no other life. My grand father broke loose from the crowd when he bought and started businesses. Their hard work and determination gradually changed the course of history for their progeny–me included. I’m grateful for their lives and example.

The McFarland High School students were so involved with their lives that they could not see themselves in a different way. This reminded me of myself fairly recently. Early in my recovery phase I was so focused on my new life with only one leg.  I pushed hard to get physically strong, and to stay positive (on the outside)  while struggling internally  to fight  the nagging feeling that suddenly, I was  broken, deformed or a freak. I felt I would never fully enjoy the things I did before.  I was stuck (at least in my mind) in a world I was scared of. I felt I would never know another life.

With the help of a counselor I pushed through that  stinkin’ thinkin’.  Today, I am really beginning to see myself doing the things I want to do. I share this in the hopes that it will cause you to consider your life. What is holding you back?  Do you have difficulty seeing yourself in another way? Are your actions negatively affecting those around you and holding your family back?

I encourage you to do whatever it takes to break the mold you see yourself in.  Does that mean getting re-educated?  Maybe. Does that mean changing the crowd you hang out with? Possibly. Whatever it takes, the price you pay will be worth it. Ask the student-athletes of McFarland HS if it was worth it? Is their life improved? Would they do it again? I can almost guarantee they would tell you yes!

Physically I am getting better every day.  Emotionally I am also improving impressively. Thank you for following me and for encouraging me.  Until next time.

Leave a comment