Are we Fit for Him?

Fitbit_One_

A few weeks back, my physical therapist asked me to “guesstimate” how many steps I walked in an average day. I did not know, but that gave me a reason to consider it. My dental team consists of two front desk assistants–both are awesome at keeping my schedule filled. I have two hygienists who work full-time, and one who works two to three days a week. I also have two chair side assistants. This combination means my office has four to five chairs filled at any one time. I treat and examine almost everyone of them. The distance from one end of my building to the other is about sixty feet. That means on any given day, I take a lot of steps.

My PT recommended I consider getting a Fitbit (or similar device) to measure my movements each day. Shortly after that, I purchased the Fitbit One. I like it. It not only measures my steps, but it allows me to enter my water consumption, my current weight and my exercise time (intensity). From my recorded steps and my entered data, it calculates my miles walked and my calories burned. I can also follow trends in my activity. All this is beneficial, because anything that gets measured gets improved!

The Fitbit One is small. It can be placed in a pocket, clipped to the pocket or the bra. Because of its size, it can be easily misplaced. In fact one day, I donned my Fitbit and headed to the gym. I went about my day as usual. That evening, I discovered that my Fitbit was gone. I was very disappointed. That small tool had become very valuable to me.

That night before bed, I reflected on my day. Those who follow me know that I consider myself to be a man with a strong faith in Jesus Christ. Each night before bed I pray. Usually my prayers are for others. If you look around, you will notice many people who are going through struggles and trials. That night I spent most of my time praying for a specific person. As an aside, I asked God that if He was not too busy with the major problems with His children, if He could help me find my Fitbit.

I slept well that night. When I woke up, I dressed to to the the YMCA (as I do 5 to 6 times a week). I went out to the car, and opened the car door, and before getting in, I reached under the seat (between the seat and door) and there was my Fitbit. Without seeing it, I reached in and found it. Of course I offered an immediate prayer of thanks!

I knew this, but it was strengthened in me that day–God knows us. He knows us better than we know ourselves. After all, He is our Father. He loves us. He is never too busy for our concerns–no matter how “insignificant” we think they are. I encourage you to go to Him. Ask and you shall receive. Seek and you shall find. Knock and it shall be opened to you. It works. Of this I am certain. Until next time.

Oh, by the way, I walk between 4500 and 5000 steps each day. Not too bad for a one legged man!

Leave a comment